“He’s no fisherman”

.

I must have been

about seven.

We would often

go fishing as a family.

This time uncle Dennis

came with us and said

to my folks

in his broad Bristolian accent,

He is no fisherman!”

My mum defended in her

diplomatic way.

I just stood and listened.

.

This piece isn’t about

the small man

my uncle Dennis must have been,

saying this to a

seven year old boy.

Everyone

has had a voice

saying

“You’re not good enough.”

from a teacher, parent or someone.

my question is…

.

Why would my memory

choose

to

remember

t h o s e   w o r d s

from 25 years ago?

.

Why, when my memory

has forgotten countless

better memories like

the scent of the air

between lips as I leaned

in for my first kiss?

Or the feeling of my feet first

standing on a surfboard,

skidding along a moving curve of ocean.

.

Why keep a photo

of uncle ‘I’m not good enough’

on the wall

of my memory?

Why play that scratchy sound recording

so crisply in my

adult ears?

.

It seems so stupid.

.

 

.

One thought on ““He’s no fisherman”

  1. My guess is that you have this line in memory because it would always make you go beyond and prove your old uncle wrong. This sad remark is just a reminder no matter what people are going to say, they know absolutely anything about you and cannot predict or govern your choices and future.

    Simply amazing poem. I’m touched.

    Kisses to you and the family. =*

Leave a Reply

