my first haiku

Mum gave me a box recently. It contained all of my schooling stuff from kindergarten and up. It’s a large box. Two large boxes actually. In it I found probably the first haiku I ever wrote. Here it is after years in an attic space, published for the first time:

.

hawks on a kangaroo
pick the last bites of their meal
fly back to their nest

.

I wasn’t expecting genius and nor should you.  I don’t remember the moment. It’s clearly Australian and I’m pretty proud of little Andrew having a go.

It does provide a good opportunity for a response ku though. To primary school teachers everywhere:

.

one two three four five
one two three four five six sev
3 five 12… eight

 

.

Leave a Reply

